CFO Golf Classic Supports Catholic Schools

Register today for the Catholic Foundation's 2017 Golf Classic. It will be held on Monday, May 22, 2017 at the Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club.  The 4-member team scramble format remains the same. We will have morning (8:00 am) and afternoon (1:00 pm) sessions. Sign up your team or register as an individual and play on one of our Foundation teams. 

NEW FOR 2017 - Flights named after 6 great Saints!  Tournament will be broken up into 6 flights (3 in the morning and 3 in the afternoon). We will split each sessions into 3 flights based on handicaps.

Flight names are listed below:
St. Rita Flight            St. Andrew Flight           St. Christopher Flight
St. Claire Flight         St. Sebastian Flight         St. Lawrence Flight                   

First and second place teams in each flight will receive trophies and be asked to name a Catholic School of their choice to be the Flight grant recipients. First place grants are $750 each and second place grants are $375 each. 

Archbishop’s Traveling Trophy - All Teams Compete -- The team who has the lowest handicapped score (one of the 6 flight first place winners) will also be awarded the Archbishop’s Traveling Trophy and their school will also receive a $1,000 grant. This team will have their names added to the trophy which will be displayed at the school they choose to represent.

Father Kirk Larkin All-Parish Team Trophy -- A multi-year winner of the Archbishop’s Trophy in the past, Father Kirk Larkin was an avid golfer and strong supporter of the Catholic Foundation’s Golf Classic. For this reason, the Catholic Foundation has named an All-Parish Team Trophy in memory of Father Larkin. This trophy is awarded to the team that certifies all four members are parishioners of the same parish and have registered to participate in the All-Parish Team competition. 

Register Online Today for the 2017 Golf Classic


Register Online Today for the Padres in the Kitchen Dinner separately here

To recap, the Catholic Foundation’s 15th Annual Golf Classic was a great day of golf, fellowship and dedication to support of our Catholic Schools and Catholic Education in the Archdiocese.  The event was held on June 6, 2016 at Gaillardia Country Club. The Golf Classic sported 180 golfers in both morning and afternoon sessions.

The day was picture perfect with little wind, moderate temperature and no rain. In addition to the golf played, a lunch, wine & cheese gathering, silent auction and awards dinner were held. The net proceeds of the event will eventually be over $80,000 and will be split with half going proportionally to the 21 Catholic Schools and remaining half going to Catholic Education Endowment Funds at the Foundation.  The Foundation's goal is to maintain quality education at all of our Catholic Schools and to provide endowment spendable income to both schools and parish education funds within the Archdiocese.  In the last 15 Golf Classic events, the Catholic Foundation has raised over $500,000 cumulative for the Endowment Funds.

The Father Kirk Larkin All-Parish Team 1st Place Traveling Trophy was won by St. Monica Church Team of Chuck Zorio, Jaimee Zorio, David Munn and Chris Evans.  Again this year, Catholic schools teams competed in the Schools Flight, which allowed for representative teams from any Catholic school to compete for the Archbishop’s Trophy and a Grant Award to the school.  This year’s winner was the Bishop McGuinness High School Team of Landon Strunk, Alexi Sadeghy, David Trimble and Jordan Donek. The Second Place Team in the Schools Flight was by the Christ the King Team of Jim Feighny, Ronald Hill, Steven Bentley and Brian Afforder. The Foundation A Flight winning team was Mike Lawter, Jeff Saxton, Ed Lawter and John Feary.  Second place team in the A Flight was Danny Stith, Daniel Stith Jr., Joe Vahlberg and Bryan Valberg. The Foundation B Flight winning team was Kevin Trosper, Father Joe Jacobi, David Mesigh and Gerald Goodall. Second place team in the B Flight was Mike Milligan, Michael Milligan, Father William Novak and David Johnson.

In the Skill’s Contest, the winner of the Closest to the Pin Competition was Jeff Saxton; winner of the Men’s Longest Drive Competition was Karsten Kenworthy, winner of the Women’s Longest Drive Competition was Alexis Sadeghy and winner of the Longest Putt Competition was Sean Blackwell.  There were no winners for the Hole-in-One contests for either a new 2016 Buick Encore Compact Sport Utility from Rick Jones Buick-GMC or for a Rolex Watch from B.C. Clark Jewelers. 

Chairman of the Golf Classic was Jaimee Zorio. The event committee included Mary Beadles, Don Creel, Kevin Karpe, Jerry Kelley, Butch Meibergen, Sharon Robinson, Danny Stith, Barbara Thornhill, David Zuech, Jeanne Bohan, and Barney Semtner. 

The Presenting Sponsor for the 2016 Golf Classic is Charles L. and Jaimee R. Zorio. Flight Sponsors are MidFirst Bank and Love’s Travel Stops and Country Stores. The Golf Ball Sponsors are Saint Katharine Drexel Retirement Center and Wells Fargo Advisors. The Awards Dinner Sponsor is Bank of Oklahoma. The Golf Shirt Sponsor is Wealth Management Group. The Goodie Bag Sponsor is Gallagher Benefit Services.  Our Double Eagle Sponsors are Gerald E. Kelley LLC, Mark Ruffin, Lawter & Associates PLLC, Longhorn Service Company, Anderson & House Inc., Butch & Margie Meibergen and Maguire-O’Hara Construction.  The Premium Hole Sponsors are Mary & Tom Beadles, Doug & Tish Eason, W. Bentley Edmonds MD, Ralph Fredrickson, Charles Lawrence MD, Nash & Company CPA; Peters & Chandler, P.C., and United Mechanical. The Classic Hole Sponsors are ADG, Alan Aneshansley, Arvest Bank, Catapult Learning, Catholic Mutual Group, Charles Schwab & Company, Stephen A. Chastain DDS, Crowe & Dunlevy, Eide Bailly, First National Bank of Oklahoma, Heartland Mobility, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; Reverend James Greiner, InvesTrust, Ken & Karen Kenworthy, LCG Associates, Mercy Hospital, Paycom Payroll LLC, Rocket Color, Smith & Kernke, Anonymous, on behalf of St. Gregory’s University, St. Ann’s Retirement Center, Surgery Center of Enid and Trinity Publications.  In-Kind donations have been provided by Cory’s Audio-Visual Services, Gaillardia Country Club, Rick Jones Buick GMC, Tyler Signs and B.C. Clark Jewelers. Special Donors include Aetna, Delta Dental, Doug & Tish Eason, Dr. Michael Steffen, Dick Wright, Tony Tyler and UNUM.  The Padres in the Kitchen Silver Sponsors are Ellen & Jerry Kelley and Jaimee & Chuck Zorio. The Padres in the Kitchen Bronze Sponsors are Kathy & Alan Aneshansley, Mary & Tom Beadles, Amy & Chad McDougall, Ann & Manny Sanchez and Gayle & Barney Semtner.

In the photo above, Hugh O'Hara sinks a putt for birdie and his team celebrates!